Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Software and control architecture

The robot development environment (RDE) ArmarX aims at providing an infrastructure for developing a customized robot framework that enables the realization of distributed robot software components. To this end, ArmarX is organized in three layers: the middleware layer which provides core features such as communication methods and deployment concepts, the robot framework layer which consists of standardized components that can be tailored to customize the robot software framework and the application layer where robot programs are implemented. This layered architecture eases the development of robot software architectures by making use of standard interfaces and ready-to-use components which can be customized, extended and/or parametrized according to the robot’s capabilities and application. To support the development process ArmarX provides a set of tools such as plug-in-based graphical user interfaces, a statechart editor, and tools for online inspection and state disclosure.

Software and control architecture of the humanoid robot ARMAR-6

ArmarX architecture

In order to be able to adequately control the high-performance actuators of ARMAR-6, we developed a robot-independent, real-time capable control framework ArmarXRT. The developed concepts allow for combining and switching between different control approaches with varying cycle times and real-time requirements while maintaining full compatibility with our existing robot-framework ArmarX. We abstract the robot in a set of virtual control and sensor devices. These control devices represent actuators or the power management system, receive set-points from higher level components, convert them into the hardware specific format and send them to the real hardware. Sensor devices receive real data (e. g. motor ticks) or virtual data (e. g. control frequency) and make it available to higher level components. In order to develop flexible and reusable control mechanisms, the framework offers a two-level hierarchy for controllers:

  • Hardware-specific joint-controllers consider low-level control tasks such as encoding radian positions into encoder ticks or calculate the motor current based on a torque target.
  • Hardware-independent multi-joint-controllers for mid- or high-level tasks such as joint trajectory execution or Cartesian velocity control.

Using these mechanisms we are able to offer the same software interfaces on the real robot and in simulation which enables faster development since multi-joint-controllers run in simulation and on the real robot. The control framework is divided into a real-time capable part and a non-real-time part. The non-real-time part provides communication interfaces to non-real-time software-modules and provides the possibility to use existing components, including the platform control, motion planning, our memory architecture and visualization of the internal state. It also handles all management functionalities such as controller creation and destruction. The real-time capable control thread handles bus communication, controller execution as well as the non-blocking interfacing with higher-level components via the TCP or UDP based communication protocols using ArmarX/Ice.


Software and control architecture of the humanoid robot ARMAR-III

The software and control architecture of the humanoid robot ARMAR-III consists of three layers (see figure). On the lowest level, DSP perform low-level sensorimotor control realized as cascaded velocity-position control loops. On the same level, hardware such as microphones, loudspeakers, and cameras are available. All these elements are connected to the PCs in the mid-level, either directly or via CAN bus. The software in the mid-level is realized using the Modular Controller Architecture (MCA2). The PCs in the mid-level are responsible for higher-level control (forward and inverse kinematics), the holonomic platform, and speech processing.

The first two levels can be regarded as stable i.e. the implemented modules remain unchanged. The programming of the robot takes place on the highest level only. Here, the so-called robot interface allows for convenient access to the robot's sensors and actuators via C++ variables and method calls.

To allow for effective and efficient programming of the robot, in addition to direct access to the robot's sensors and actors, two abstraction levels are defined: tasks and skills. Skills implement atomic capabilities such as platform navigation, visual object search, grasping objects, placing objects, handing over objects, opening doors, closing doors, etc. Tasks are operate on a higher level and are composed of several skills, e.g. bringing juice from the fridge.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Software- und Regelungsarchitektur

Die Roboterentwicklungsumgebung ArmarX zielt darauf ab, eine Infrastruktur für die Entwicklung eines benutzerdefinierten Roboter-Frameworks bereitzustellen, das die Realisierung von verteilten Roboter-Softwarekomponenten ermöglicht. Zu diesem Zweck ist ArmarX in drei Schichten organisiert: die Middleware-Schicht, die Kernfunktionen wie Kommunikationsmethoden und Bereitstellungskonzepte bereitstellt, die Roboter-Framework-Schicht, die aus standardisierten, konfigurierbaren Komponenten besteht, und die Anwendungsschicht, in der Roboterprogramme implementiert werden. Diese Schichtenarchitektur erleichtert die Entwicklung von Roboter-Softwarearchitekturen durch den Einsatz von Standardschnittstellen und einsatzbereiten Komponenten, die entsprechend den Fähigkeiten und Anwendungen des Roboters angepasst, erweitert und/oder parametrisiert werden können. Zur Unterstützung des Entwicklungsprozesses stellt ArmarX eine Reihe von Tools zur Verfügung, wie z.B. Plug-in-basierte grafische Benutzeroberflächen, einen Statechart Editor und Tools für die Online-Inspektion und Zustandsoffenlegung.

Software- und Reglungsarchitektur des humanoiden Roboters ARMAR-6

ArmarX architecture

Um die Hochleistungsaktoren des ARMAR-6 angemessen steuern zu können, wurde am H2T ein roboterunabhängiges, echtzeitfähiges Steuerungskonzept ArmarXRT entwickelt. Die entwickelten Konzepte ermöglichen die Kombination und Umschaltung zwischen verschiedenen Steuerungsansätzen mit unterschiedlichen Zykluszeiten und Echtzeitanforderungen bei voller Kompatibilität mit unserem bestehenden Roboterframework ArmarX. Der Roboter wird dzu in eine Reihe von virtuellen Steuerungs- und Sensorgeräten abstrahiert. Diese Steuergeräte stellen Aktoren oder das Power-Management-System dar, empfangen Sollwerte von übergeordneten Komponenten, wandeln sie in das hardware-spezifische Format um und senden sie an die reale Hardware. Sensorgeräte empfangen reale Daten (z. B. Motor-Ticks) oder virtuelle Daten (z. B. Steuerfrequenz) und stellen diese übergeordneten Komponenten zur Verfügung. Um flexible und wiederverwendbare Kontrollmechanismen zu entwickeln, bietet das Framework eine zweistufige Hierarchie für Controller:

  • Hardwarespezifische Joint-Controller berücksichtigen Low-Level-Steuerungsaufgaben wie das Kodieren von Gelenkwinkeln in Encoder-Ticks oder das Berechnen des Motorstroms basierend auf einer Drehmomentvorgabe.
  • Hardwareunabhängige Multi-Joint-Controller wie Trajektorieausführung über mehrere Gelenke oder kartesische Geschwindigkeitsregelung.

Mit diesen Mechanismen sind wir in der Lage, die gleichen Softwareschnittstellen am realen Roboter und in der Simulation anzubieten, was eine schnellere Entwicklung ermöglicht, da Multi-Joint-Controller in der Simulation und am realen Roboter laufen.

Das Kontrollrahmenwerk ist unterteilt in einen echtzeitfähigen Teil und einen Nicht-Echtzeitteil. Der Nicht-Echtzeit-Teil stellt Kommunikationsschnittstellen zu externen Softwaremodulen bereit und bietet die Möglichkeit, bestehende Komponenten zu nutzen, einschließlich der Plattformsteuerung, der Bewegungsplanung, der Speicherarchitektur und der Visualisierung des internen Zustands. Darüber hinaus werden alle Verwaltungsfunktionen wie die Erstellung von Controllern verwaltet. Der echtzeitfähige Kontroll-Thread übernimmt die Buskommunikation, die Ausführung der Steuerung sowie die blockierungsfreie Anbindung an übergeordnete Komponenten über die TCP- oder UDP-basierten Kommunikationsprotokolle mit ArmarX/Ice.


Software- und Reglungsarchitektur des humanoiden Roboters ARMAR-III

Die Software- und Regelungsarchitektur des humanoiden Roboters ARMAR-III besteht aus drei Schichten (siehe Abbildung). Auf der niedrigsten Ebene befinden sich die DSP für die sensormotorische Regelung bestehend aus kaskadierten Geschwindigkeits- und Positionsreglern. Des Weiteren stehen auf der gleichen Ebene diverse Hardwarekomponenten wie z.B. Mikrophone, Lautsprecher und Kameras zur Verfügung. Alle Komponenten sind entweder direkt oder via CAN-Bus verbunden mit PCs in der mittleren Ebene der Architektur. Die Software in der mittleren Ebene ist mit Hilfe von Modular Controller Architecture (MCA2 ) integriert. Die PCs in der mittleren Ebene werden für die Berechnung der Vorwärtskinematik als auch der inversen Kinematik genutzt sowie für die Steuerung der holomischen Plattform und der Sprachverarbeitung. 

 

Die ersten beiden Ebenen der Architektur können als stabil angesehen werden, da die implementierten Module nicht mehr starken Änderungen unterliegen. Die Programmierung des Roboters wird auf der obersten Ebene durchgeführt. Hierbei wird auf die unteren Ebenen mittels einer standardisierten Schnittstelle zugegriffen. Programme für den Roboter auf dieser Ebene werden hauptsächlich in C++ geschrieben. 

 

Für die effektive und effiziente Programmierung des Roboters sind zwei Abstraktionsebenen definiert: Taks und Skills. Skills sind hierbei atomare Fähigkeiten des Roboter z.B. Navigation der Plattform, visuelle suche von Objekten etc. Tasks hingegen werden aus mehreren Skills zusammengesetzt, um komplexere Operationen auszuführen z.B. Apfelsaft aus dem Kühlschrank dem Benutzer bringen.