Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Motion Planning

Adaptive Motion Planning
Results of the ReGrasp-RRT
Integrated grasp and motion planning
Cooperative grasping trajectories

Motivation and Objectives

The execution of tasks requires the determination of collision-free trajectories of the robot in a fast and reliable way, taking into account a changing environment. Based on randomized algorithms, such as Rapidly Exploring Random Trees (RRT), we are developing algorithms for collision-free motion planning for single arm and bimanual grasping, re-grasping and manipulation tasks. In addition, we are investigating motion planners for grasping and manipulation tasks, which combines finding a feasible grasp, solving the inverse kinematics and searching the configuration space for collision-free trajectories.

Collision Detection and Motion Planning

A humanoid robot operating in a human-centered environment needs a component to plan collision-free motions in a fast and robust manner. Based on randomized algorithms, such as Rapidly Exploring Random Trees (RRT), specialized algorithms have been developed in order to serve a fast and accurate planning component. The planning algorithms are evaluated and integrated on Armar-III, a humanoid robot platform developed by the collaborative research center SFB 588.
Reduced 3D models of the robot and the environment are used by the high performance collision checking and distance calculation module and thus grasping and reaching motions can be planned efficiently with RRT-based methods.
Guaranteed collision-free motions can be planned using lazy collision checking and enlarged robot models. Planning whole body motions for ARMAR-III is realized by the Adaptive RRT planner which quickly finds collision-free trajectories for 19 DoF of the subsystems Platform, Torso, Upperarm, Underarm, and Hand.

IK-RRT: Searching a goal during planning

A common task for a humanoid robot is to grasp an object and e.g. deliver it to another place. For such cases, a collision-free trajectory for grasping has to be planned which usually is done by solving the inverse kinematics and planning a trajectory to the configuration of the IK solution. Since there is no knowledge if there is a collision-free trajectory to the IK solution this approach may lead to a situation where no trajectory can be found by the planner, although a solution may exist. Furthermore a selection which grasp out of a set of feasible grasping poses should be used for grasping may limit the goal space additionally. To avoid the selection of a feasible grasp and an IK-solution we developed probabilistically complete planning approaches which combine the search for a collision-free trajectory with the search for a feasible grasp and an IK-solution. In case no IK-solver is present the J+-RRT approach can be used, in case an IK-solver is present, the planning can be done more efficiently by the IK-RRT algorithm.
In case both hands are available for grasping an object, the MultiEEF-Planner implicitly decides for which one a collision-free grasping trajectory exists by exploiting parallelized search algorithms and integrating the search for IK-solutions.

Planning Dual Arm Grasping and Re-Grasping Motions

If both arms of a humanoid robot are required for grasping, manipulating, or re-grasping tasks, an efficient planning component has to offer possibilities for planning dual-arm motions. Motion planning for such tasks on humanoid robots with a high number of degrees of freedom (DoF) requires computationally efficient approaches to determine the robot’s full joint configuration at a given grasping position, i.e. solving the Inverse Kinematics (IK) problem for one or both hands of the robot.
In this context, algorithms have been developed for solving the inverse kinematics problem by combining a gradient-descent approach in the robot’s pre-computed reachability space with random sampling of free parameters. This strategy provides feasible IK solutions at a low computation cost without resorting to iterative methods which could be trapped by joint-limits. This strategy is applied to dual-arm motion planning tasks in which the robot is holding an object with one hand in order to generate whole-body robot configurations suitable for grasping the object with both hands.
The two probabilistically complete RRT-based motion planning algorithms (J+-RRT and IK-RRT) interleave the search for an IK solution with the search for a collision-free trajectory. The dual-arm extension of these planners can be used for grasping an object with both arms or for solving re-grasping problems.

 

Integrated Grasp and Motion Planning

The Grasp-RRT planner integrates the search for a feasible grasping position and the search for a collision-free trajectory. Since no pre-defined grasping poses are needed, the planner benefits from a larger goal space for grasping. During planning the motion, grasping configurations are sampled and when a collision-free connection to the RRT can be found, the grasps are scored by a grasp quality algorithm based on the applied forces at the contact points. In case the score lies above a threshold, a grasping trajectory was found and the solution is pruned in order to generate a appealing trajectory.
An extension to bimanual grasping problems is realized by the Bimanual Grasp-RRT algorithm. Here, two single arm Grasp-RRT planners (one for each arm) are started in parallel and a main thread collects all collision-free reachable grasping positions that are computed by the planners. By generating a bimanual grasp-score and checking self-collisions the main planning thread tries to find a global solution to a bimanual grasping position.


Videos





Staff
Name Title Phone E-Mail
Dr.-Ing.   vahrenkampPta6∂kit edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Bewegungsplanung

Adaptive Motion Planning
Umgreifen mit dem ReGrasp-RRT
Integrierte Greif- und Bewegungsplanung
Kooperatives Greifen mit dem Multi-Robot-RRT

Motivation und Ziele

Um mit einem autonomen Roboter Aktionen auszuführen, werden Algorithmen benötigt um kollisionsfreie Bewegungen in einer dynamischen Umgebung schnell und zuverlässig planen zu können. Basierend auf randomisierten Ansätzen, wie beispielsweise den Rapidly-exploring Random Trees (RRT), entwickeln wir Algorithmen zur kollisionsfreien Bewegungsplanung für ein- und zweiarmige Greif- und Manipulationsaufgaben. Weiterhin werden integrierte Algorithmen zur Greif- und Bewegungsplanung untersucht, die es ermöglichen, während der Planung von Bewegungen im Konfigurationsraum geeignete Greifhypothesen zu ermitteln.

Kollisionserkennung und Bewegungsplanung

Humanoide Roboter, welche in menschenzentrierter Umgebung eingesetzt werden, benötigen eine Komponente, um kollisionsfreie Bewegungen schnell und robust planen zu können. Basierend auf den Rapidly-exploring Random Trees (RRT) werden angepasste Algorithmen entwickelt, um Greif- und Manipulationsbewegungen effizient planen zu können. Die hierzu entwickelten Bibliotheken zur Robotersimulation, Kollisionserkennung und Bewegungsplanung werden auf dem humanoiden Roboter ARMAR-III, welcher im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs 588 entwickelt wird, vollständig integriert und evaluiert. Die Nutzung vereinfachter 3D Modelle des Roboters und der Umgebung ermöglicht eine performante Durchführung von Kollisionserkennung und Abstandsberechnungen, so dass Greiftrajektorien effizient mit RRT-Methoden geplant werden können.
Um, trotz sampling-basierter Algorithmen, garantiert kollisionsfreie Trajektorien planen zu können werden vergrößerte Robotermodelle und Algorithmen zur nachträgliche Validierung genutzt. Da für die so bestimmten Trajektorien eine Garantie gegeben werden kann, dass kein Kontakt mit der Umwelt auftritt, können hierdurch sensitive Trajektorien geplant werden.
Ganzkörpertrajektorien können mit dem Adaptiven RRT-Planer schnell und zuverlässig ermittelt werden, so dass mit ARMAR-III Greif-Trajektorien für 19 Freiheitsgrade der Subsysteme Plattform, Hüfte, Oberarm, Unterarm, und Hand robust berechnet werden können.

IK-RRT: Sampling des Lösungsraums während der Planung

Eine typische Aufgabe für einen humanoiden Roboter besteht aus den Aktionen Greifen und Überbringen eines Objektes. Für solche Aktionen wird eine kollisionsfreie Greiftrajektorie zu einem Ziel im Konfigurationsraum geplant. Diese Zielkonfiguration kann durch Lösen der inversen Kinematik (IK) ermittelt werden, allerdings wird somit der mögliche Lösungsraum eingeschränkt, da die Redundanz des Systems i.A. nicht durch eine Zielkonfiguration abgedeckt wird. Weiterhin können für ein Objekt mehrere Greifmöglichkeiten existieren, wobei die Festlegung auf einen speziellen Griff wiederum den Lösungsraum unnötig einschränkt. Um in solchen Situationen den kompletten Lösungsraum für die Planung nutzen zu können, wurden die probabilistisch vollständigen Planer J+-RRT und IK-RRT entwickelt, welche zusätzlich zur Planung der Trajektorie einen erreichbaren Griff sowie eine Lösung der inversen Kinematik bestimmen. Der J+-RRT Algorithmus benötigt hierbei keinen Algorithmus zur Lösung des IK-Problems, wohingegen der IK-RRT Ansatz einen IK-Löser in das Planungskonzept integriert, wodurch eine effizientere, da bidirektional umgesetzte, Suche realisiert werden kann.
Falls beide Hände eines humanoiden Roboters zum Greifen zur Verfügung stehen, kann der Multi-EEF-Planer eingesetzt werden. Dieser Ansatz trifft implizit die Entscheidung, welche Hand zum Greifen benutzt werden soll, indem eine parallelisierte Planung für beide Arme durchgeführt wird.

Planung von zweiarmigen Greif- und Umgreifbewegungen

Falls beide Arme eines humanoide Roboters zum Greifen, Manipulieren oder Umgreifen benötigt werden, kommen Erweiterungen der IK-RRT-Ansätze zum Einsatz, welche eine effiziente Planung in hochdimensionalen Konfigurationsräumen ermöglichen. Hierbei kommen angepasste Algorithmen zum Lösen der zweihändigen IK zum Einsatz, um trotz der vielen Bewegungsfreiheitsgrade eines Zweiarmsystems schnell potentielle Lösungen ermitteln. Diese IK-Algorithmen kombinieren ein Gradientenabstiegsverfahren in der vorberechneten Erreichbarkeitsverteilung des Roboters mit der zufälligen Abtastung von freien Parametern. Diese randomisierte Bestimmung von IK-Lösungen wird zur Ermittlung von Ganzkörperkonfigurationen während der Planung von zweihändigen Greif- oder Umgreiftrajektorien eingesetzt.

 

Integrierte Greif- und Bewegungsplanung

Der Grasp-RRT Planer vereint die Suche nach einem möglichen Griff mit der Suche nach einer kollisionsfreien Greiftrajektorie. Somit werden keinerlei vordefinierten Griffe benötigt und der Planer profitiert von einem größeren Zielraum. Während der Planung der Bewegung werden potentielle Greifhypothesen erzeugt, welche dann online mit einem Modul zur Ermittlung der Griffqualität bewertet werden. Wird ein stabiler Griff gefunden und kann die Greifhypothese kollisionsfrei mit dem RRT-Suchbaum verbunden werden, so ist eine Greiftrajektorie gefunden, mit der das Objekt stabil und kollisionsfrei gegriffen werden kann. Die Bewertung der Griffe wird durchgeführt, indem die einwirkenden Kräfte an den Kontaktpunkten über Reibungskegel approximiert werden und ein Gütemaß für die Griffqualität bestimmt wird.
Zweihändigen Greifaufgaben können mit dem Bimanual-Grasp-RRT geplant werden. Dieser Ansatz überwacht die seperate Ausführung von zwei Grasp-RRT Instanzen und bewertet potentielle Zweihandkombinationen. Hierzu wird die Bewertung zweihändiger Griffe durchgeführt und der Kollisionsstatus der zweiarmigen Bewegung bestimmt, um eine globale Lösung zu ermitteln.


Videos





Mitarbeiter
Name Titel Tel. E-Mail
Dr.-Ing.   vahrenkampVbv8∂kit edu