Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Integrated Humanoid Platforms - the ARMAR Family

ARMAR-6

ARMAR-6

ARMAR-6 is a collaborative humanoid assistant robot for industrial environments. It can interact with humans and provide help when needed in a proactive way. Thanks to its humanoid shape, it can use tools designed for humans, such as power drills and hammers. With its artificial intelligence capabilities, it can autonomously perform maintenance tasks in industrial facilities, recognize the need of help of its collaboration partner, and offer assistance. The robot has been designed to be versatile in its capabilities to allow acting in situations that are not foreseen at programming time.

Four computers in the mobile base of the robot provide the computation power required for control, image processing, and interaction algorithms as well as for machine learning and artificial intelligence methods. The software architecture is implemented in ArmarX. A battery allows for cable-free, completely autonomous operation. All joint actuators in the arms consist of specially developed, robust, encapsulated sensor-actuator-controller units containing an electric motor, reduction gear, sensors, electronics and controllers. Slip rings allow for the continuous rotation of the joints. Various control modes enable the execution of precise and force-controlled motions.


ARMAR-4

ARMAR-4

The humanoid robot ARMAR-4 is a full body torque controlled humanoid robot with 63 active degrees of freedom, 63 actuators, 214 sensors, 76 microcontroller for low-level control, 3 PCs for perception, high-level control and balancing, a weight of 70 kg including batteries and total height of 170 cm.

The first generations of the ARMAR humanoid robots have been developed within the Collaborative Research Center 588: Humanoid Robots - Learning and Cooperating Multimodal Robots (SFB 588) External Link.


ARMAR-III

ARMAR-III
ARMAR-III

In the design of our robot ARMAR-IIIa in 2006, we desired a humanoid that closely mimics the sensory and sensorimotor capabilities of the human. The robot should be able to deal with household environments and the wide variety of objects and activities encountered in it. ARMAR-IIIa is a fully integrated autonomous humanoid system. It has a total 43 DOFs and is equiped with position, velocity and force-torque sensors. The upper body has been designed to be modular and light-weight while retaining similar size and proportion as an average person. For the locomotion, we employed a mobile platform which allows for holonomic movability in the application area. Two years later, a slightly improved humanoid robot, ARMAR-IIIb, was engineered.


ARMAR-I und ARMAR-II

ARMAR-I

In the year 2000, the first humanoid robot in Karlsruhe was built and named ARMAR. This humanoid had twenty-five mechanical degrees-of-freedom (DOF). It consisted of an autonomous mobile wheel-driven platform, a body with 4 DOFs, two anthropomorphic redundant arms each having 7 DOFs, two simple gripper and a head with 3 DOFs.

In 2002, the second version of the ARMAR series, namely ARMAR-II, was built. Mechanically, this robot consisted of an autonomous mobile wheel-driven platform, a body with 4 DOFs, a two arm system with a simple gripper and a stereo camera head. The anthropomorphic body of the robot was placed on a mobile platform and supported a rotation of about 330 degrees. It also was able to bend forward, backward and sideward.
Since the robot should support a simple and direct cooperation with humans, the physical structure (dimension, shape and kinematics) of each arm was developed as close as possible to the human arm in terms of segment lengths, axis of rotation and workspace. Furthermore, ARMAR-II had two redundant arms each having 7 DOFs and a length of 65 cm.


Der Karlsuher Humanoide Kopf

Der Karlsuher Humanoide Kopf

The Karlsruhe humanoid head was consistently used in ARMAR-IIIa, ARMAR-IIIb, and ARMAR-4. Each possesses two cameras per eye with a wide-angle lens for peripheral vision and a narrow-angle lens for foveated vision. It has a total number of 7 DOFs (4 in the neck and 3 in the eyes), six microphones and a 6D inertial sensor. Throughout Europe, there are already ten copies of this head in use.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Ganzheitliche humanoide Platformen - die ARMAR Familie

ARMAR-6

ARMAR-6

ARMAR-6 ist ein humanoider Assistenzroboter für industrielle Umgebungen, der mit Menschen interagiert und sie proaktiv unterstützt. Mit seinem menschenähnlichen Körper kann er für den Menschen geschaffene Werkzeuge wie Bohrmaschinen oder Hammer verwenden. Seine künstliche Intelligenz erlaubt es ihm, selbständig Aufgaben im Kontext der Wartung industrieller Anlagen zu übernehmen, die Hilfebedürftigkeit eines menschlichen Kooperationspartners zu erkennen und seine Hilfe anzubieten. Eine große Herausforderung ist dabei, dass ARMAR-6 mit einer Fülle von möglichen Situationen konfrontiert wird, die zum Zeitpunkt seiner Programmierung nicht vorhergesehen werden können.

Vier Computer im Roboter stellen die notwendige Rechenleistung für die Algorithmen der Regelung, der Bildverarbeitung, der Interaktion sowie für die Methoden des maschinellen Lernens und der künstlichen Intelligenz bereit. Die Software-Architektur ist in ArmarX realisiert. Ein großer Akku ermöglicht den kabellosen und völlig autonomen Betrieb. Alle Gelenkantriebe in den Armen bestehen aus eigens entwickelten, robusten und gekapselten Sensor-Aktor-Controller-Einheiten, die Elektromotor, Getriebe, Sensoren, Elektronik und Regelung enthalten. Schleifringe erlauben eine kontinuierliche Rotation der Gelenke. Unterschiedliche Regelungen ermöglichen die Ausführung von präzisen und kraftgeregelten Bewegungen.


ARMAR-4

ARMAR-4

Der humanoide Roboter ARMAR-4 ist ein kraftgeregelter humanoider Roboter mit 63 aktiven Bewegungsfreiheitsgraden, 63 Aktuatoren, 214 Sensoren, 76 Mikrokontrollern, 3PCs für die Perzeption, High-Level Ansteuerung und Balancieren. Armar-4 ist 170cm gross und wiegt mit Batterien 70 kg.

Die ersten ARMAR-Generationen wurden im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs 588: Humanoid Robots - Learning and Cooperating Multimodal Robots (SFB 588) External Link entwickelt.


ARMAR-III

ARMAR-III
ARMAR-III

Bei der Planung von ARMAR-IIIa im Jahr 2006 stand die Nachempfindung der sensorischen und sensormotorischen Fähigkeiten des Menschen im Vordergrund. Der Roboter sollte in der Lage sein in einem gewöhnlichen Haushalt zu agieren und dem Menschen bei seiner alltäglichen Arbeit zu unterstützen. ARMAR-IIIa hat 43 DoFs und ist ausgestattet mit Poisitions-, Geschwindigkeits- und Kraftsensoren. Der Oberkörper wurde modular konstruiert und orientiert sich von seinen Ausmaßen an einer durchschnittlichen Person. Zur Forbewegung dient eine holomische, mobile Plattform. Zwei Jahre später wurde der leicht verbesserte humanoide Roboter ARMAR-IIIb gebaut.


ARMAR-I und ARMAR-II

ARMAR-I

Im Jahr 2000 wurde die erste Version von ARMAR gebaut, der 25 mechanische Freiheitsgrade (DoFs) besitzt. Der Roboter besteht aus einer autonomen mobilen Plattform, einem Torso mit 4 DoFs, zwei anthropomorphe Arme mit jeweils 7 DoFs, zwei einfachen Greifern und einem Kopf mit 3 DoFs.

Die zweite Version von ARMAR entstand 2002 und trug den Namen ARMAR-II. Dieser Roboter besteht ebenfalls aus einer autonomen Plattform, einem Torso mit 4 DoFs, zwei Armen mit 7 DoFs und einer Länge von 65 cm bestückt mit einfachen Greifern sowie einem Kopf mit einem Stereokamerasystem. Der anthropomorphe Torso des Roboters ist auf einer mobilen Plattform montiert und unterstützt eine Rotation von 330 Grad. Überdies ist der Roboter in der Lage sich vor-, seitwärts- und zurück zu beugen. Da der Roboter in enger Kooperation mit dem Menschen atrbeiten soll, wurden die Arme dem menschlichen Vorbild nachempfunden.


Der Karlsuher Humanoide Kopf

Der Karlsuher Humanoide Kopf

Der Karlsruher Kopf wurde durchgehend in ARMAR-IIIa und -IIIb verwendet. Dieser besitzt zwei Kameras pro Auge, damit der Roboter für Weit- und Nahsicht. Des Weiteren besitzt der Kopf 7 DoFs (4 DoFs im Nacken und 3 DoFs für die Augen), 6 Mikrophone und einen 6D Intertiualsensor. In Europa sind bereits 10 Köpfe an verscheidenen Forschungseinrichtungen im Betrieb.