Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
Tamim Asfour
Leitung H²T
+49 721 608 47379
asfourPvf0∂kit edu

Secretary
Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics; High Performance Humanoid Technologies, Chair Prof. Asfour
Adenauerring 2, Building 50.20
76131 Karlsruhe

Phone: +49 721 608-48277

Email: sekretariatTwa6∂humanoids kit edu

INOPRO: Intelligent orthotics and prosthetics

INOPRO: Intelligent orthotics and prosthetics
Contact:

Tamim Asfour

Funding:

BMBF

Startdate:

2016

Enddate:

2021

Description

The INOPRO project aims at developing personalized intelligent prostheses and orthoses with an increased level of autonomy achieved by embodied machine intelligence, which facilitates symbiotic interaction with the human and more intuitive support, and better adaptation to the human’s needs, leading to substantial enhancement of the quality of life of prostheses and orthoses users.  

KIT is leading the development of a new personalized intelligent hand prostheses, which are adaptable to the user’s needs in size and functionality and are equipped with machine intelligence to facilitate intuitive human-machine interaction and reduce the cognitive load of the user. To achieve this goal, we rely on a tight integration of intelligent mechanics, novel 3D printing technologies, embedded systems, and robust control with few, simple control signals. To enhance the autonomous abilities of hand prostheses in the sense of context-sensitive grasping of daily objects, we are working on the development of low-dimensional grasping representations and data-driven learning of a library of grasping skills from human observation as well as on resource-aware algorithms for image processing using artificial neural networks.

Furthermore, KIT contributes to the design and control of novel leg prostheses and orthoses by developing novel joint mechanisms and mechanisms for the realisation of synergetic coupling in the lower limb as well as methods for action classification, data-driven user state estimation based on multi-sensory information, and context sensitive-control.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Leitung H²T
+49 721 608 47379
asfourBqb4∂kit edu

Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik
Lehrstuhl für Hochperformante Humanoide Technologien
Adenauerring 2, Geb.50.20
76131 Karlsruhe

Sekretariat

Sprechstunde:

Mo. - Do.: 10:00h - 12:00h

Telefon: +49 721 608-48277
            +49 721 608-43547

Email: sekretariatThq0∂humanoids kit edu

INOPRO: Intelligente Orthetik und Prothetik

INOPRO: Intelligente Orthetik und Prothetik
Ansprechpartner:

Tamim Asfour

Förderung:

BMBF

Starttermin:

2016

Endtermin:

2021

Description

In  INOPRO  werden personalisierte, intelligente  Prothesen und Orthesen entwickelt, die einen höheren Autonomiegrad besitzen, symbiotische Interaktion mit dem Menschen, intuitive Unterstützung und bessere Anpassung an dem Menschen ermöglichen, um die Lebensqualität  von Prothesen- und Orthesenträgern maßgeblich zu verbessern.

Das KIT leitet das Teilprojekt zur Entwicklung intelligenter, personalisierte  Handprothesen, welche in Größe und Funktionalität an die Bedürfnisse des Nutzers angepasst sind und mit einer eingebetteten maschinellen Intelligenz ausgestattet sind, die eine intuitive Mensch-maschine-Interaktion ermöglicht und dabei die kognitive Belastung für den Nutzer reduziert. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wird an der nahtlosen Integration von intelligenter Mechanik, 3D Fertigungstechniken, eingebetteten Systemen und robuster Ansteuerung mit wenigen, einfachen Steuersignalen geforscht. Um den Autonomiegrad der Prothesen im Hinblick auf das kontext-sensitive Greifen zu erhöhen, werden Methoden zur niedrigdimensionalen Repräsentation von Griffen und zum datengetriebene Lernen einer Griff-Bibliothek aus menschlicher Beobachtung sowie Algorithmen für eine ressourcengewahre Verarbeitung visueller Daten mit künstlichen neuronalen Netzen erforscht.

Weiterhin ist das KIT an der Entwicklung neuartiger Steuerungen für Beinprothesen und -orthesen beteiligt. So werden neuartige Konzepte für Gelenke und Mechanismen zur Realisierung der synergetischen Kopplung in der unteren Extremität entwickelt und Methoden zur Klassifikation von Aktionen, datengetriebenen Zustandsschätzung des Nutzer basierend auf multimodaler sensorischer Information sowie kontextsensitiven Steuerung untersucht.